Electric Racing NewsWelcome to the world of electric motorsport
FIA Formula E
Isle of Man SES TT Zero
FIM eRoadRacing World Cup
Pikes Peak
Gas VS Electric
Other EV Racing
FIM e-Power - Archieve
TTXGP - Archieve
Contact Us
Buenos Aires Mayor signs three year deal:
FIA March 7, 2014 press release:

Buenos Aires Mayor signs three-year Formula E race deal

Buenos Aires|07 Mar 14

Mayor Mauricio Macri, today (7 March) officially welcomed the FIA Formula E Championship to Buenos Aires as one of 10 global cities to host the new fully-electric racing series.

Together with the CEO of Formula E Alejandro Agag, the Mayor signed an agreement which will see the Argentinean capital host Formula E races for the next three years, beginning with the city’s first electric Grand Prix on 10th January 2015.

Buenos Aires joins a list of nine other cities to be announced for the inaugural season and one of three races taking place in South America. Formula E is a new FIA Championship using electric single-seater cars capable of speeds in excess of 225km/h. Beginning this September, the series will compete in the heart of 10 of the world's leading cities with 10 teams, each with two drivers, going head-to-head to create a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans.

Speaking on the announcement Mayor Mauricio Macri said: “For Buenos Aires to be selected to host a Formula E race alongside worldwide cities such as Beijing, London and Los Angeles demonstrates the commitment of the city to embracing new technologies, clean mobility and respect for the environment. The electric vehicle will play a significant role in reducing future pollution in cities across the globe, making them better places to live, and Buenos Aires is pleased to be at the forefront of this and to be supporting a pioneering initiative such as the FIA Formula E Championship.”

Circuit layouts for the Buenos Aires Formula E Grand Prix are currently being finalised with the confirmed route expected to be unveiled in mid-May, although it will remain subject to FIA track homologation. As with all Formula E events, the race will take place in one day, incorporating the city as a backdrop and providing a great spectacle for the local people.

Alejandro Agag said: “It gives me huge satisfaction to be signing this agreement today which will bring Formula E to the people of Buenos Aires for at least the next three years, putting it on the world stage for electric motorsport competition. Argentina is a country of great automotive tradition as well as a unique setting to host a Formula E Grand Prix. Mayor Mauricio Macri and the city authorities have shown tremendous commitment to not only Formula E but to promoting cleaner, greener energy which I have no doubt will help transform the city into one of the world leaders in sustainability.”

Back to FIA Formula main page
Back to Home

2014/2015 Race 5
2014/2015 Race 4
2014/2015 Race 3
2014/2015 Race 2
2014/2015 Race 1
Sebastien Buemi quickest after 4 days of testing.
Lucas di Grassi fastest in 2 day test
Sebastien Buemi quickest in first Formula E test
Super Aguri: "Sato is on our shortlist"
Four More Drivers added to Formula E Drivers' Club
Formula E UK Television Deal
Bejing Formula E Circuit Design
Interview Dilbagh Gill, Mahindra Racing
Audi Sport ABT reveal new car
Global music artists to perform at Formula E events
Formula E car completes 1,000km of trouble free testing
Daniel Abt Q&A
Interview with Steven Lu of China Racing
ABT Sportsline announces driver line-up
Formula E Drivers' Club up to 24 Members
Hans-Jurgen Abt Q&A
Sir Frank Williams adresses FIA Formula E teams
Mahindra Racing unveil team livery
Formula E reveals next eight names to join Drivers' Club
Formula E to build new headquarters at Donington Park
Formula E Championship launches Drivers' Club
Formula E car makes debut
Formula E car to make debut in Las Vegas
Causeway Media Partners to make investment in Formula E
Malaysia oficially launches Putrajaya race
Andretti Sports Marketing to host Miami race
Venturi becomes 10th team
Virgin becomes 9th team
2014/2015 Final Formula E schedule
TV Asahi acquires Japanese broadcasting rights for Formula E
Mahindra Racing becomes 8th team
Formula E car completes successful test
ABT Sportsline becomes 7th team
Super Aguri becomes 6th team
e.dams becomes 5th team
Aurora named exclusive broadcaster
2014-2015 Formula E Race Schedule
Dragon Racing Joins FIA Formula E
Formula E to use all-weather tires
New car unveiled
DHL delivers Formula E
Qualcomm becomes technology partner
Gil de Ferran named ambassador
Fox Sports multi-media deal
Andretti Autosport joins Formula E
Berlin Annouonced as 10th City
Williams to supply bateries
Bangkok revealed as a candidate city
TAG Heuer sings as Official Timekeeper of Formula E
Renault Partners with Formula E
Formula E Los Angeles
Michelin Selected as supplier of Formula E
Preliminary Calendar
Team China becomes 2nd team
Drayson to join Formula E
Rome to hold race in 2014
Formula E orders 42 cars
Foundation of Spark Racing Technology
FIA Formula E Championship Announced
Home FIA Formula EIsle of Man SES TT ZeroeMotoRacingFIM eRoadRacing World CupPikes PeakGas VS ElectricElectrathonOther EV RacingFIM e-Power - ArchieveTTXGP - ArchieveContact Us