Electric Racing NewsWelcome to the world of electric motorsport
FIA Formula E
Isle of Man SES TT Zero
FIM eRoadRacing World Cup
Pikes Peak
Gas VS Electric
Other EV Racing
FIM e-Power - Archieve
TTXGP - Archieve
Contact Us
IOMTT 2012 Event Anouncement:

Thursday 10th November 2011


The Isle of Man Government Department of Economic Development has confirmed that the groundbreaking SES TT Zero Clean Emissions Motorcycle Challenge will again take place on the Isle of Man in 2012 as part of the annual TT Races meeting.

The Department uses the event, which is now in its fourth year, as a showcase for the Isle of Man’s Clean Tech capabilities, as well as encouraging enterprise and innovation. To date 20 teams from eight countries – India, UK, Austria, The Isle of Man, Japan, USA, Sweden and Germany - have taken up the challenge with American based outfit Segway Racing MotoCzysz’s winning time last year, 99.604mph (22:43), the outright lap record.

The 2011 event saw Segway Racing MotoCzysz go agonisingly close to breaking the prestigious landmark. With a lap time of 22:38.28 seconds required to achieve the 100mph lap, Michael Rutter’s 2011 lap time was around five seconds out. There were also notable performances from Kingston, who took the University prize and US based MIT, who were competing for the first time.

Mark Guthrie, MD, of event sponsors SES Satellite Leasing Ltd, the world leading Satellite Communications provider, believes that the prestigious mark will be achieved at the 2012 TT Races:

“Based on last year’s performance we are confident that at least one team will go through the historic 100mph mark for an electric machine for the first time, which will be a monumental achievement. SES is delighted to again back the event and we wish the best of luck to all of the participating teams in their groundbreaking endeavours.”

There will also be a cheque for £10,000 for the first team to achieve the landmark time during the event while there will also be limited edition trophies, designed by a local Manx artist, presented to the first 10 teams to go over 100mph average speed for the 37 ¾ mile course.

Minister John Shimmin, MHK, Minister for Department of Economic Development, Isle of Man Government, commented:

“It is great to see many of the established teams continuing to build and improve on their first year achievements, while it is always encouraging to see new teams joining in the event. I am particularly struck by the wide variety of teams who each use the event for different purposes – from University teams as part of their curriculum to high profile outfits looking to build commercial enterprises – and I am pleased that the Isle of Man has been able to facilitate their efforts and give them a platform and showcase for their work.”

He continued:

“I'm delighted that SES as a locally based company has again chosen to support this event. They are one of the Isle of Man’s leading technology companies and the event is a great platform for the company to promote its work and expertise.”

Next year’s challenge to break the 100mph mark will take place on the morning of Wednesday 6th June 2012 ahead of the Royal London 360 Superstock and Sidecar races.

Isle of Man TT Course Map
McGuinness wins 2014 TT Zero
Sarolea Racing confirmed for 2014 TT
Miller to ride for Vercarmoto in 2014 TT
Mugen to have two riders in 2014
2013 Race Results
2013 3rd Qualifying session
2013 2nd Qualifying Session
2013 1st Qualifying Session
2013 MotoCzysz unveils 2013E1pc
2013 SES TT Zero Entries
2012 SES TT Zero Practice
2012 Bournemouth Kawasaki
2012 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Entries
2012 John McGuinness tests Mugen Shinden
2012 John McGuinness to race Mugen EV
Home FIA Formula EIsle of Man SES TT ZeroeMotoRacingFIM eRoadRacing World CupPikes PeakGas VS ElectricElectrathonOther EV RacingFIM e-Power - ArchieveTTXGP - ArchieveContact Us