Electric Racing NewsWelcome to the world of electric motorsport
FIA Formula E
Isle of Man SES TT Zero
FIM eRoadRacing World Cup
Pikes Peak
Gas VS Electric
Other EV Racing
FIM e-Power - Archieve
TTXGP - Archieve
Contact Us
2013 1st Qualifying Session:
Official Isle of Man Press Release:

Saturday 1st June 2013

McGuinness and Rutter unofficially smash the SES TT Zero record

After making history last year, the manufacturers of the TT Zero bikes have pushed the boundaries even further at this year’s TT by breaking the 104.056mph lap record set by Michael Rutter during the 2012 TT Zero race.

TT legends John McGuinness and Michael Rutter shocked critics and supporters alike with practice laps at a record speed of 105.6mph and 104.6mph, respectively in last night's first qualifying session at the 2013 Isle of Man TT Races for the clean emissions machines. The laps are only classed as unofficial as they were not set during a race.

Despite some slight disruptions to the Friday’s practice session, the Morcambe rider managed to establish a 10 second lead on Rutter at Glen Helen on the Mugen machine during the one-lap practice. McGuinness maintained the lead at Ballaugh Bridge and powered through to the Grandstand to finish with a time of 21:25.32 (105.650mph).

Only 13 seconds behind was Midlands rider Rutter with a time of 21:38.15 (104.631mph) on the MotoCzysz machine. Rutter’s MotoCsysz team-mate Miller also broke the 100mph boundary, lapping the Mountain Course with a time of 22:07.37 (102.328mph), which was quicker than his lap time in last year's race.

The MotoCzysz team suggested that they could be even more competitive this year at the unveiling of their new machine at the TT Grandstand on Thursday afternoon. The impressive outfit from the USA have won the TT Zero race since 2010, and their performance at last night’s practice certainly lived up to expectations.

Welshman Ian Lougher went out on Japanese rider Yoshinari Matsushita's Komatti-MiraiRacing team machine in tribute to his friend who was killed earlier in the week in the Supersport qualifying session.

Other riders out in the session included local riders Dave Moffitt on the MANTTX Racing bike with a time of 28:15.85 (80.0943mph) and Chris McGahan on the Vercarmoto who crossed the line with 29:12.50 (77.5051mph). Antonio Maeso and Paul Owen completed the group of riders out in the session.

The TT Zero race is due to go ahead on Wednesday 5th June at 10:45am.

Isle of Man TT Course Map
McGuinness wins 2014 TT Zero
Sarolea Racing confirmed for 2014 TT
Miller to ride for Vercarmoto in 2014 TT
Mugen to have two riders in 2014
2013 Race Results
2013 3rd Qualifying session
2013 2nd Qualifying Session
2013 MotoCzysz unveils 2013E1pc
2013 SES TT Zero Entries
2012 SES TT Zero Practice
2012 Bournemouth Kawasaki
2012 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Entries
2012 John McGuinness tests Mugen Shinden
2012 John McGuinness to race Mugen EV
IOMTT 2012 Event Anouncement
Home FIA Formula EIsle of Man SES TT ZeroeMotoRacingFIM eRoadRacing World CupPikes PeakGas VS ElectricElectrathonOther EV RacingFIM e-Power - ArchieveTTXGP - ArchieveContact Us