Electric Racing NewsWelcome to the world of electric motorsport
FIA Formula E
Isle of Man SES TT Zero
FIM eRoadRacing World Cup
Pikes Peak
Gas VS Electric
Other EV Racing
FIM e-Power - Archieve
TTXGP - Archieve
Contact Us
TTXGP 2012 Euro Round 2:
TTXGP Euro Round 2 at Snetterton


8th July 2012

TTXGP Press Office


TTXGP R2 Euro at Snetterton delivers a thrilling race with Zongshen's Ho Chi Fung and Newcomer Jeremy Hill from BMCRC on a Mavizen TTX02 taking it to the wire in monsoon weekend.

In a weekend marked with drizzle and rain, broken with an occasional thunder storm, it felt as if the sun had taken a wrong turn when it appeared 20 mins before race time. The weekend had been wet with bikes exiting the tracks in lots of unwelcome places with Murrays at turn 11 being a popular spot on the Snetterton 200 1.984 mile circuit.
Matthias Himmelmann, the 2011 TTXGP World Champion led the field out with Ho Chi Fung and Tang Yu. Emma Franklin from Performance Bikes and Jeremy Hill from BMCRC were each on a Mavizen TTX02.
After a formation lap, the race starts with a jack rabbit launch from Fung with Hill taking second and Himmelmann slipping into 4th sandwiched between Yu and Franklin. They take the first turn bunched with the two Agni powered leaders taking the lead. As the leaders stretch away, Himmelmann drops into third and with Hill and Fung taking the fight on a turn by turn basis. Over the next 9 laps of the 11 lap race, Hill and Fung battled it out in a thrilling and exciting race. For 7 of the 8 laps there were no more the a sec apart.
With the heavy wet conditions acting as a leveller, Jeremy’s 20 years of rider training and perverted intimacy with the circuit led him to lead on arguably the weakest bike on the field. Riding an unmodified Mavizen TTX02 from the 2010 season, he led a master class display of how much a rider can determine the outcome. The team from Mavizen worked through the night to get the battery pack up to scratch when they discovered a faulty board had dischraged some of the sub packs and damaged cells.

Thanks to the team, the red TTX02 for once seemed to fly, setting an incredible pace. In what looked set to be a podium position, Jeremy lost the front at Murrays with only a lap remaining. You could feel the disappointment ripple through Hill’s home crowd.
Talking of crowds, it was like watching the movie Fields of Dreams. People just started to appear on the pit lane fencing. The crowd grew to cover the entire pit wall. with the race speeding past to a jet engine sounds, the disbelief at the performance of the TTXGP field was palpable. Whatever happened on the track, the campaign for hearts and minds was certainly won. Race it and they will come. And they did.
Ho Chi Fung, a TTXGP regular again delivered his enthusiasm and talent. With the mighty Zongshen corporation and the Chinese state TV camera team in tow, he put on an incredible show leading the race for 4 laps.
“I did very well in these conditions because the bikes were evenly matched – wet then dry then wet..” said Fung, “but the changing weather is something we can’t predict and that has been the biggest challenge this weekend”
Himmelmann held back in 3rd from most of the race, narrowly missing joining Hill on the Murrey turn 11.
“I’m waiting after the start to see what happens in the race. I was not sure about our motor conditions, so I waited for one time to use full power” said Himmelmann, “on the last straight to victory”
Third place with taken by Tang Yu. He was disappointed about his results. The wet conditions were challenging.
“I want to put this race behind me” said Yu, “it was a difficult weekend. I hope to have a good rest of the season.”
The field was joined Emma Franklin from Performance Bikes. She improved every lap and put in a very credible performance for a new comer to electric racing.
R3 of TTXGP Euro Championship 2012 returns to Assen on Aug 4th/5th with new bikes and teams debuting for a tremendous grid in front of a 60k crowd. See you there!

Snetterton 200
1.984 miles (very Wet)
Race (11 Laps) 

8th July 2012.

Pos No. Name Laps Total Tm Diff  Best Tm Sponsor/bike
1 49 Matthias Himmelmann 11 18:27.5   01:37.3 Muench Racing
Muench TTE
50 59 Ho Chi Fung
11 18:29.7 2.195 01:38.3 Zongshen
ZPE 001R
3 26 Tang Yu 10 19:53.6 1 Lap 01:56.5 Zongshen
ZPE 001R
4 5 Emma Franklin 9 18:36.2 2 Laps 02:00.2 Performance Bikes
Mavizen TTX02
DNF 53 Jeremy Hill 8 13:28.7 DNF 01:39.0 Lifestyle Transformation
Mavizen TTX02

TTXGP 2012 World Championship
TTXGP 2012 America Round 4
TTXGP 2012 America Round 3
TTXGP 2012 America Round 2
TTXGP 2012 America Round 1
TTXGP 2012 Euro Round 4
TTXGP 2012 Euro Round 3
TTXGP 2012 Euro Round 1
TTXGP 2012 Australia Round 3
TTXGP 2012 Australia Round 2
TTXGP 2012 Australia Round 1
TTXGP 2012 Australia Round 1 TTXGP PR
TTXGP 2012 Australia Round 1 Catavolt Race Report
TTXGP 2012 Brammo Eric Bostrom PR
TTXGP 2012 Muench Laguna Seca PR
TTXGP Team Icon Brammo PR
TTXGP Muench Katja
TTXGP 2012 Schedule PR
TTXGP 2012 Aust Sched PR
TTXGP UEM Partnership PR
Home FIA Formula EIsle of Man SES TT ZeroeMotoRacingFIM eRoadRacing World CupPikes PeakGas VS ElectricElectrathonOther EV RacingFIM e-Power - ArchieveTTXGP - ArchieveContact Us